Château de l'Echarderie

Accueil

home

Château de l'Echarderie

Dating from the epoch when the landowner, the Seigneur de la Guerche, received by way of rent the best quarter of each year’s yield, the white Chenin , is cultivated with wisdom, harvested with patience, and elaborated with passion.
Techniques have advanced, but they nevertheless remain faithful to the traditional expression of the soil.  Each vintage maintains its own character, and whether simply tender and mellow or opulently sweet and rich, they all exhibit the elegance and finesse which, combined with an exceptional longevity, are the true marks of a great wine.

Figures and technical data

L’Echarderie : approximately 10 hectares; soil of brown schist and sandstone ; hillsides oriented south/southeast.  Due to the proximity of the Layon stream, early morning mists in late season favour here more than elsewhere the development of botrytis cinerea, the “noble rot”.  Moderate production : average 15hl/ha.  Manual harvesting via successive sortings; long fermentation (often 6 months) at low temperature.  Bottling, when possible, before summer in order to preserve the wine’s fruity character..Bouteille Quarts de Chaume

Château de l’Echarderie : Quarts de Chaume

    The soil and the wine :
    Area : 9,80 hectares
    Soil : schist and sandstone
    Vine-plants 100% white Chenin
    Average age of vines 25 years
    Grass-planted rows ; short pruning (taille guyot double)

    Harvesting and grape processing :
    Manuel vintaging by successive sorting  (October and November)
    Slow pressing ;  fermentation in barrels at low temperature
    Checking of musts at low temperature
    Filtration and bottling under controlled atmosphere
    Average yield 15hl/ha (2000 bottles)
     

The blends :

  • Clos des Quarts : an assemblage of vintages originating in vineyards containing the youngest vines, those not yet vigorous enough to support grapes up to an extreme maturity.
  • Château de l’Echarderie : masterpiece of the production, presenting an optimum balance between finesse and concentration.
  • Clos Paradis : true to its name, reuniting the vintages of this ideally situated spot and allowing the “botrytised” grapes to concentrate gently under the conjugated effects of autumn’s winds and sunshine.

Pascal LaffourcadeHarmony of wines and foods : foie gras fresh or pan-fried, blue cheeses, Roquefort, fourme, Stilton, gorgonzola, iced desserts, vacherin, Norwegian omelette, frangipane, custard (crème anglaise)

ligne 

©2015 - Laffourcade wineyards - Legal terms - Use conditions
Web-agency www.diagnostic-formation.com - last update February 16, 2015

Château de l'Echarderie

Accueil

home

Château de l'EcharderieSituée au cœur du vignoble historique de l’appellation Quarts de Chaume cette bâtisse témoigne de l’implantation ancienne de la vigne sur ce noble terroir de schistes qui domine la vallée du Layon.
Depuis l’époque où le Seigneur de la Guerche, propriétaire, recevait pour loyer le meilleur quart de la récolte, le Chenin blanc ou pineau de la Loire est cultivé avec sagesse, vendangé avec patience et vinifié avec passion.
Si les techniques ont progressé, elles n’en restent pas moins fidèles à l’expression traditionnelle du terroir et chaque millésime garde son caractère, il peut être simplement tendre et moelleux ou liquoreux et riche jusqu’à l’opulence mais conserve dans tous les cas cette élégance et cette finesse qui sont avec une exceptionnelle longévité l’apanage exclusif des grands crus.

Quelque chiffres et données techniques
L’echarderie : environ 10 hectares, sols schistes bruns et grès, coteaux orientés  sud sud-est. La proximité du layon permet aux brumes matinales de fin de saison de favoriser plus qu’ailleurs le développement du botrytis cinerea ou pourriture noble. Production modérée : moyenne 16 hl/ha. Vendange manuelle par tris successifs, fermentation longue (souvent 6mois) à basse température. Mise en bouteille avant l’été lorsque c’est possible afin de préserver le caractère fruité du vin.Bouteille Quarts de Chaume

Château de l’Echarderie : Quarts de Chaume

    Le terroir et la vigne :
    Superficie 9ha,80
    Terroirs de schistes et grés
    Encépagement 100% chenin blanc
    Age moye des vignes 25 ans
    Enherbement du rang et taille guyot double
    Vendange et vinification :
    Vendange manuelle par tris successifs (octobre et novembre)
    Pressurage lent, fermentation en barriques à basse température
    Mutage à basse température
    Filtration et mise en bouteilles pauvres en germes
    Rendement moyen 15 hl/ha (2000blles)

Les cuvées :

  • Clos des Quarts : assemblage des vendanges provenant des clos portant les vignes les plus jeunes qui n’ont pas encore la vigueur suffisante pour porter le raisin jusqu’à la maturité extrême.
  • Château de l’Echarderie, fleuron de l’exploitation représente l’équilibre optimum entre la finesse et la concentration.
  • Clos Paradis, le bien nommé réunit les vendanges provenant de ce lieu idéalement situé pour permettre aux raisins botrytisés de concentrer doucement sous les effet conjugués du vent et du soleil d’automne.

Pascal LaffourcadeHarmonie des vins et des mets : foie gras terrine ou poelé, fromages bleus roquefort fourme stilton gorgonzola desserts glacés, vacherin, omelette norvégienne, frangipane, creme anglaise.

ligne 

©2015 - Vignobles Laffourcade - mentions légales - conditions d’utilisation
Réalisation www.diagnostic-formation.com - mise à jour lundi 16 février 2015